Growing up on Facebook

babyfacebook

It took a long time to convince my parents to let me have a Facebook. This was devastating at the time, but now, I see the bright side – there are no pictures of middle school me on Facebook.

167845

Kids younger than me, though, might have bigger things to worry about with the new Facebook Scrapbook feature.

Overall, I would say good job to Facebook for filling in a hole. I’m normally a little too particular to tag people in pictures that they’re not actually in. The only time I do it is when I upload pictures of my baby friends (s/o to my best baby friend K) and tag their parents.

Another reason that I usually tag parents is so that they know that I’ve posted a picture of their child online. Though I feel confident making my own privacy decisions, I do not feel comfortable making them for someone else’s child. I only post pictures of kids on my private accounts, and I’m careful about who follows me.

So good catch, cool idea, but I’m still a little weirded out. At first glance I don’t see this being a huge privacy issue – at least no more than when people tagged parents in pictures of their kids. To me, the weird part, is growing up on social media. Sure, I mostly grew up on it, but I wanted Facebook because I thought it would be a fun thing to have. Gaining a social media presence is becoming a natural (seemingly necessary) step in growing up. It feels different.

I’ll get over it though. Love those baby pics.

Leave a Reply

