5 things that are the absolute worst about blogging (Part I)

The

Senior year is making me even more sentimental than usual and I feel the need to reflect. Please humor me as I blog about my reflections on blogging. 

5 Things that are the absolute worst about blogging

1. Anyone and everyone can read what I say.

ryanblog

It makes me really nervous to let friends edit my history papers, let alone having strangers read my opinions online. If I make a mistake, or say something dumb, people on the other side of the planet can laugh at and/or judge me.

2. My friends can read what I say.

brian

This is worse than strangers. I like my friends. They like me. I want to keep it that way.

My “friend” Brian, for instance, doesn’t actually read my blog but likes to ask me about it from time to time and laugh at me.

3. I don’t have anything (important) to say. cant

I’m just some 22-year-old kid hanging in J-school at Chapel Hill. What do I know about mass communication, shelf assembly or life in general. Sure, I can write, but why should anyone else listen?

4. Making predictions is scary.

jetsons

I don’t like to take risks. It’s borderline cruel to be asked to take a shot at what the future of mass communication would and should be and post it on the internet (see 1. & 2.)

5. Sometimes I’m fresh out of ideas.

What I learned in boating school is?!” That’s why there are only five of these.


I have a love/hate relationship with this blog. As the semester has progressed, however, the scale has tipped closer to the love side. Bad news first, good news second. Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “5 things that are the absolute worst about blogging (Part I)

Leave a Reply

